from Jorhat with love


RTRTRTRTRTR

And I hope you always stay the same, cuz there’s nothin‘ ’bout you I would change. – Joey Mcintyre (Stay The Same)

It was back in 1990 when we were all very young, my four older sisters and my younger brother. We lived in the farthest part of our village Sielmat. The house was ours with two bedrooms, a kitchen and a common room so to say. The house stood near the river, it was not made of brick nor it is a big house and I hoped you can imagine who eight members of our family shrunk down to stay in that house. There were three other houses and a few friends who are now some of our good friends.

But somehow our parents managed to cope with all the stress and hardships like all other parents and help us their children grew physically, mentally up to what we all have become as of now. There were many fond memories like fishing during rainy seasons, huddled by the fireplace listening to stories told by my mother, the joy of hearing a cycle bell in the evening knowing father is coming home. By the way, I think old habit dies hard, my father still honks his motor every time he is at the gate no matter the gate is open or close.

I remembered something my sisters would never miss telling whenever we talked about our school life while we were in Sanghar-Veng. There was this old man who if he saw us would loudly yell, “Duck-Bag” because all my sisters have the same bag and if that’s a joke or a mockery which until today I don’t know.

Life was raw, struggling to offer their children with the food, education, clothing, love and care was what really matter to our parents. And, they did the best way they knew and the best they could, and I am happy and proud of them. Comes summer, school admission, school fees, uniforms, books, winter clothing and most of all Christmas new clothes. I still remembered my father telling us about one of my elder sisters who would agree if the shoes she liked for Christmas lasted only during Christmas and would not mind if its torn afterwards. I better not write more on this because I know she will read this. And what if she is not happy with this part? ๐Ÿ™‚

I still remember I was the laziest of them all, I would read only before exams that made my father who would sit with all of us every time we study very mad. We would all study in one big table with him on the corner day, night or morning, sharpening our pencils, rewriting our notes so we can read it in proper handwriting, asking and making us write what we memorized, which is the part I disliked the most, the reasons you better ask me in person ๐Ÿ™‚ย In the mean time my mother would be busy cooking or washing and sometimes help my father in asking notes we memorized.

They never quit on anyone of us, they believed in each one of us. They tried their best, in spite of their best effort we did very less to please or satisfy them. But, one thing I am very sure of is that there will be no parents like ours in all the seven billion humans in this world who are as dedicated, loving and caring like our parents.

In light of this, I want to take a moment to talk about the things I am grateful to my parents for:
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents loved me.
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents taught me about the love of Jesus Christ.
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents stayed together.
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents always met my physical needs.
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents always made sure I had free time.
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents taught me the importance of family.
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents valued education.
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents taught me the value of hard work and how to handle money.
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents taught me that my life had meaning and value
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents taught me that beauty is only skin deep.
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents didnโ€™t isolate me.
Iโ€™m grateful that my parents trusted me enough to send me off to college.

Without a doubt God has helped me overcome many temptations my peers have fallen into. I have some friends fallen into the dungeon of habits our society would not accept it for a sane person to be in alcohol, drugs or an early marriage. I have not even had a single drop of alcohol in my mouth or in my system this includes beer, wine, grape wine and I swear this in the name of all that is Holy and it’s true. And, I am grateful to my parents for this too.ย I will always love you all, I am sending my love: dear parents, thoughtful sisters, loving brother and friends.

A few lines for my future wife:
I know somewhere she is there, shining like the moon on a clear night. I don’t know whether loving a girl who is one decade younger to you is a crime, I am not a jury or a judge, but I can tell you this, he wonโ€™t ย love nobody but her. And, that my friend, it’s called true love orย shall I call it integrity or courage? Now that’s the stuff man should be made of.

I have come to the crossroad of my life I have chosen that path which I believe is the best, itโ€™s a path made of principles at least the character. Let us continue on our journey together, remember, youโ€™re holding our future in your hand, itโ€™s a valuable future believe me. Donโ€™t destroy it, protect it, embrace it. Itโ€™s going to make you proud one day I promise you. ย My love will always follow you and Iโ€™m sending it every day from Jorhat seal with a kiss. Remember, โ€œStrange things happen under the sun at least occasionally.โ€ ๐Ÿ˜‰

(Jorhat, ย 4th April, 2013)

28 thoughts on “from Jorhat with love

  1. nice post. glad you have a strong family and foundation to back you up. stay strong!
    a tawp a chu, ‘it all comes back to you’ ti ang deu kha ani nawk hi tie maw. luongliem khop el. ๐Ÿ˜‰ hieng ding reng hi anih, hmangai ta laklaw chun ๐Ÿ™‚

    • ruolngulworld – Thanks for reading and liking this post ๐Ÿ˜€ I want you to know you are my inspiration ๐Ÿ˜€

      And as for the ‘luongliem’ part Shakespeare has said, “All the world’s a stage, And all the men and women merely players” and i think i am in one of those stages that is called ‘lover’. No doubt about it and i don’t deny it ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Your parents, sisters, brothers, friends and the girl must be very proud of you when they read this..
    And if i am the girl ‘the future wife’ as you put in, it will be a big WOW coz i know this is true love ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Alan Famhoite โ€“ Thanks for the comments

      Yes, SERIOUSLY not even a single drop And i am proud of it..its all because of my parents helping me understand the bad effects it can bring..and most of all i want to tell to my future kids that not even a single drop of alcohol enters the mouth of their father

      Not a big feat but so far God help me

      • Alan Famhoite – Khei khei hienga ei ziek ngam chun ei tawng ta khawm ni rawi naw nim..in puong dawka mi van hriet tir kher kher kha a tul tak niloa aw..a ruoka che khawm eilo ni theia, annawleh mi hriet ei nuom naw khawm ani el theia ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Tawi, khusawt khawm a um i, i thil ziek hai hi. I take my hat off to Papa and Nunu and all for their endless sacrifices for our better tomorrow. I love you!

  4. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me | Ijassdie

  5. Pingback: 1st anniversary: ijassdie turns one! | Ijassdie

  6. Pingback: To the best teacher in the World: My DAD! | Ijassdie

Leave a Reply

