Remembering CFL Hmingthanga


Image:jlremsanga.blogspot.in

Image:jlremsanga.blogspot.in

One year later, I still ponder what might have been..

When CFL Hmingthanga died on September 9th, 2012, at the age of 45, he was already a father of four, a composer of more than 100 songs and had released over 10 music albums, a musician and very famous singer.

His shocking death at Khawbung PHC (Mizoram) on that fateful night triggered unprecedented spasms of grief throughout Mizo-world, where he left an indelible imprint on the younger generations of music lovers, singers, record producers and most of all to his fans leaving a large void in the hearts and minds of them all.

I consider myself lucky to have known CFL Hmingthanga and to have experienced and be influenced by his music in so many profound ways. The first time I heard him singing in local channel I turned to my friends and said, “This guy is going to touch so many hearts”. I was a teenager growing up, lost in love during 1997 when I first listened to his glorious “Intawng leh ngei ang aw” (here) it was so-so good. It fits right into my relationship. That song has been and will be one of my all time favorites.

Image:jlremsanga.blogspot.in

Image:jlremsanga.blogspot.in

You know many singers have come and gone, CFL is one singer who changed the lives of many people, someone who mean so much in your life. I would listen to his songs over and over again his songs touched me and people’s lives all around him in a whole bunch of ways. You know it is really hard to pull off a song that’s got a lot of melody and a lot of souls and heart and at the same time to make it really a good pop song, but guess what he did it in all his songs. This makes him ‘the man’ which many other composers and singers don’t have. And, I respect and miss him for that because I know CFL in one in a million!

So you want me to tell you what he meant to me? I can’t even begin to describe how much he did. So I won’t try. Because the only person I want to tell cannot hear me. CFL, I hope you sing out loud with your guitar up there, you’re one in a million. Every time it thunders I know it’s you headlining your own concert.

Image:jlremsanga.blogspot.in

Image:jlremsanga.blogspot.in

I will always be indebted to you for all the work you did on your songs which influenced me so much and shall miss you dearly, but your spirit and words will move on in the music you made.

Right now, all I can say is, “Sleep Tight and Rest In Peace, Man”

(Jorhat, 9th September, 2013)

Related Post:  
1. Joel Lairemsanga: 
CFL HMINGTHANGA THIHCHAM VAWIKHATNA PUALIN
2. Misual: CFL Hmingthanga Thihcham Vawikhatna Pualin 

CFL Hmingthanga’s Songs: http://v3.zaideih.com/?sol=zola&title=CFLA&page=2

3 thoughts on “Remembering CFL Hmingthanga

  1. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

Leave a Reply

